This is the Shortlist for the European Press Prize 2020

The European Press Prize announces the shortlist for 2020. Winners of all 4 categories – plus a Special Award – will be announced on June 11th.

Geschreven door
Lily Schim van der Loeff

The European Press Prize announces the shortlist for 2020. Winners of all 4 categories – plus a Special Award – will be announced on June 11th. For the 2020 edition of the European Press Prize, over 700 journalists from across Europe sent in their best work. From Georgia to France, from Norway to Russiajournalists from thirteen different countries have been nominated this year.

Category: Distinguished Reporting

  • The Uyghur Women Fighting China’s Surveillance State by Isobel Cockerell (UK), published by Coda Story (Georgia)
  • Sarajevo-Jerusalem by Rémy Ourdan (France), published by Le Monde (France)
  • Inger’s Last Wish by Merete Skogrand & Agnete Brun (Norway) published by Dagbladet Magasinet (Norway)
  • ‘I’ve seen death in this city, but nothing as sad as this’: how a ferry disaster exposed the corruption devastating Iraq by Ghaith Abdul-Ahad (Turkey), published by The Guardian (UK)
  • The Bangladeshi shopkeepers who took on Sicily’s Cosa Nostra mafia by Ismail Einashe (UK), published by The Sunday Times (UK)
  • “Living hurts”: Doom and Gloom on a ‘Dry Day’ in Lóyev by Aleksey Karpeka (Belarus), published by European Radio for Belarus (Belarus)

Category: Innovation

  • BORN FREE – Mandela’s Generation of Hope by Ilvy Njiokiktjien, Henrik Kastenkov, Michiel Hazebroek, Thomas Knijff, Hens Zimmerman, Reinier Martin (The Netherlands), self-published (The Netherlands)
  • The Millions Who Left by Julius Tröger, Andreas Loos, Christian Bangel, Elena Erdmann, Julian Stahnke, Paul Blickle, Philip Faigle, Sascha Venohr (Germany), published by ZEIT online (Germany)
  • Europol’s Child Abuse Image Geolocated in Ukraine: A Forgotten Story Hidden Behind a Landscape by Daniel Romein, Carlos Gonzáles, Timmi Allen and Bo (multiple), published by Bellingcat (UK/The Netherlands)
  • How DoR organized an all-team pop-up newsroom in Transylvania by the team of Decât o Revistă (Romania), published by Decât o Revistă (Romania)
  • Projekt Spięcie by Jędrzej Malko, Sławomir Blichiewicz, Karolina Olejak, Szymon Rębowski, Lukasz Pawłowski, Stefan Sękowski (Poland), published by Krytyka PolitycznaKrytyka Polityczna, Magazyn Kontakt, Klub Jagielloński, Nowa Konfederacja and Kultura Liberalna (Poland)
  • Stonewall 50+ by Hugo Greenhalgh, Nicky Milne (UK), published by Thomson Reuters Foundation (UK)

Category: Investigative Reporting

  • WWF’s Secret War by Tom Warren, Katie J.M. Baker (UK), published by Buzzfeed News (UK)
  • “I hung there trussed up like a broiler”: Prisoners of a penal colony in Petrozavodsk tell of torture and the chief who ‘likes to beat people’ by Alla Konstantinova (Russia), published by Mediazona, Current Time TVГуберния DailyРуна (Russia)
  • Roland Berger’s self-deception: The star consultant, his Nazi father and the guilt of German industry by Sönke Iwersen, Andrea Rexer, Marina Cveljo, Hans-Peter Siebenhaar, Thomas Tuma, Roland Berger, Isabelle Wermke (Germany), published by Handelsblatt (Germany)
  • Master and Chef by Roman Badanin, Olga Churakova, Mikhail Rubin, Michael Weiss, Pierre Vaux (multiple), published by Proekt (Russia)
  • Trigger Warning by Annemarte Moland, Even Kjølleberg, Ruben Solvang (Norway), published by NRK (Norway)
  • 100 Days in Europe by Francesco Battistini (Italy), published by Corriere della Sera (Italy)

Category: Opinion

  • The Ham of Fate by Fintan O’Toole (Ireland), published by NY review of books (US) and El País (Spain)
  • How the news took over reality by Oliver Burkeman (UK), published by The Guardian (UK)
  • Addio pomodori: What will we lose in the climate crisisby Katarzyna Boni (Poland) and published by Magazyn Pismo (Poland)
  • More goals, finer ankles by Andreea Giuclea (Romania) and published by Decât o Revistă (Romania)
  • The Curse of Poverty by Alexey Polikovskiy (Russia) and published by Novaya Gazeta (Russia)
  • How We Stopped Being Comrades by Beata Balogová (Slovakia), published by SME (Slovakia)

Preparatory committee
This year’s preparatory committee consists of Denis Staunton, Belinda Goldsmith, Maria Louka, Anna Husarska, Ida Nyegård Espersen, Șebnem Arsu, Bartosz Wieliński, Patrice Schneider and Heikelina Verrijn Stuart.

European Press Prize winners and nominees from previous years include among many others Miranda Patrucic (OCCRP), Rutger Bregman (De Correspondent) and Christiaan Triebert (Bellingcat, New York Times).

Award ceremony and winners
Our panel of judges will choose five winners. The panel for this year consists of chairman Sylvie Kauffmann (editorial director Le Monde), Yevgenia Albats (editor-in-chief The New Times), Alexandra Föderl-Schmid (correspondent Süddeutsche Zeitung for Israel and the Palestine territories), Alan Rusbridger (former editor-in-chief of The Guardian) and Juan Luis Sánchez (deputy director

About the European Press Prize

The European Press Prize celebrates the highest achievements in European journalism.

The prize is made possible by a number of European media foundations who strive to encourage quality journalism in Europe: The Guardian Foundation, Thomson Reuters Foundation, The Politiken Foundation, Foundation Veronica, The Jyllands-Posten Foundation and Democracy and Media Foundation, The Irish Times Trust Limited, the Media Development Investment Fund, Agora Foundation and De Balie.

The European Press Prize is awarded in 4 categoriesDistinguished Reporting, Innovation, Opinion and Investigative Reporting. The judges award a Special Award for excellent journalism to one striking entry which defies categories and disciplines. Studio Europa Maastricht and The European Press Prize have also launched a pilot edition of the European Cartoon Award this year.

All shortlisted articles will be published in English on the European Press Prize website.

Contact for republishing articles or more information.